Committee structure


The Assembly is the Council’s senior body and is the central political focus of the Council and the co-ordinating body for all elements of the political structure.  It sets the overall corporate direction, policy framework and financial limits for the Council within which all operations and policies are carried out.  It aims to foster a community-focused approach to the formal side of the Council's business, recognising the wider interests of the community and the need to be accountable to them.


The Assembly comprises all 51 Members of the Council.


Meetings are generally held every two months and take place on Wednesday’s at Barking Town Hall, starting at 7 p.m.


You can find out from our Forward Plan the main issues due to be considered by the Assembly in the coming months.

Exec Body

The Cabinet (formerly known as the Executive) is:

  • the primary decision-making body for matters which are not otherwise delegated;
  • the formal link between Members and officers in terms of overall direction and performance management; and
  • the key forum for ensuring a corporate approach to service delivery and appropriate partnership links with others with a view to effecting community leadership.


It works within the Council's overall policy framework and pays particular attention to the effective and appropriate use of the Council's resources (workforce, finances and assets).  It is also the body which gives direction to the Chief Executive and the Corporate Management Team, and holds those employees to account for their performance, and is also responsible for ensuring appropriate links with external partners.


The Cabinet comprises of 10 Councillors from the Labour Majority Group and is chaired by the Leader of the Council.


The Cabinet typically meets every four weeks on Tuesday evenings at 5.00 p.m. at the Civic Centre, Dagenham.


You can find out from our Forward Plan the main issues due to be considered by the Cabinet in the coming months.

Select Committees

Regulatory Boards

Development Control Board

The Development Control Board (DCB)makes decisions on larger planning applications or ones that may have a significant impact on the local community.


The DCB is open to the public. Meetings are usually held every four weeks on a Monday, at Barking Town Hall, starting at 7pm.  You can check meetings dates and venues on the meetings Calendar.


If you have an interest in any particular planning application and wish to address the Board, please contact Democratic Services on 020 8227 2638. Alternatively, you may click on the following link to submit your request to speak using our online form:

Standards Committee

The Standards Committee is a committee established under Section 101 of the Local Government Act 1972 and Section 28 of the Localism Act 2011.  The political balance requirements of Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 will apply when determining membership.


The Standards Committee is responsible for:


(i)  promoting and maintaining high standards of conduct by Members and statutory co-opted Members of the authority, and


(ii)  hearing and determining complaints about elected Members and co-opted Members referred to it by the Council's Monitoring Officer.

Non Political Structure Committees




Level Triple-A conformance icon, W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0

Accessibility level Triple-A


PDF files
To view PDF files you need to have the free Adobe Reader installed.

|Home |

A to Z of Services |

Contact |

Search the site


Image of a line


Recent Updates |

Search |

Meetings |

Forward Plans |

Councillors |

Elections |

MPs |

MEPs |

GLA Member |

Political Structure |

Calendar |

Library |

Outside Bodies |

Subscribe to Updates |

Constitution |


Image of a line



Departments |


Image of a line


Accessibility |

Report |

Complain |

Privacy |

Freedom of Information |

Help |


Image of a line


Beacon Council 2003-2004. Transforming Secondary Education


© MMVI London Borough

of Barking and Dagenham

Civic Centre


RM10 7BN


Telephone: 020 8215 3000

Fax: 020 8227 2806